Washing your hands is so important but what we are washing our hands and our kids hands with is just as important.

The truth is that it’s really not necessary to use anti-bacterial soap when you wash your hands.  If you wash properly with warm/hot water you’ve done what’s needed.

What’s bad about anti-bacterial soaps?

Add text (1)

And beyond that:

  • Some scientists theorize that bacteria may develop a resistance to bactericidal agents over time.
  • Some bacteria actually benefit us. The normal population of bacteria on our bodies not only eats our sweat, but also helps defend us against truly harmful, invasive bacteria.
  • Many common diseases are viral in nature, anyway, and are therefore not prevented by antibacterial products.

In fact the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), antibacterial soaps are not necessary, but washing your hands thoroughly with ordinary soap and warm water is one of the most effective ways to ward off infection.  

So why put this evasive substance on your hands several times a day?  I don’t!

What do I use (since every hand soap on the market has one of these ingredients)? I use body wash! Body wash that I know is safe!  I just put it into a pump.

IMG_20140430_203909_528

I started doing this about 6 weeks ago.  My hands are softer and smoother than EVER!  And another great perk… when I’m wiping my kids up with their wash cloths after meals I can pump a bit out into the cloth and know that’s safe too!  No worries for Mom and the kids smell so much better !

I also keep a sugar scrub next to my kitchen sink and use it once or twice a week. It’s like a mini hand massage.  Feels so nice!

IMG_20140430_203932_670

You can get great scents that are free of synthetic fragrance and anti-bacterial ingredients.  Plus your hands will be squeaky clean and soft!

 

Be Informed. Be Safe. Be Healthy.

Cheers,

Heather