Before I had kids my birth control method of choice was the pill.  It was easy, it made sense, it was cheap enough… (being self employed with a $10,000 deductible health insurance I ended up paying everything out of pocket).

But then I got pregnant and quickly had a miscarriage, my pregnancy was ectopic.  It was a surprise for sure and I was 37 years old so Jeff and I talked about it.  He, being 5 years older than me, and wanting to have kids decided we would just wing it from here and see what happens.  I got pregnant again.  This time, there was an ultrasound, a photo and wow!  We went home that summer to tell our families.  When we got back from out trip I went for a visit, the pregnancy was over.  Oy.  Okay so long story short, I had two miscarriages and then two pregnancies with two healthy babies who we love dearly (most of the time! 😉

But then we were done.  We are “old” parents.  I had Gianna at 38 and Vinnie at 39.  We were graced with what we wanted, it was enough… so what now?  What about birth control after two kids?  I didn’t want to take a pill every day, so I looked into IUD…. it seemed like a miracle on earth.  Simply have this Mirena device inserted into your uterus for 5 years and you are pregnancy, period and pill free.  Yay answer to my prayers!  BUT, as with many synthetic medications there are some unpleasant side effects.  I decided to go for it since most of the implantation side effects were from people who had never birthed children.  So “OK… let’s DO this!”

And let me tell you…. it was great.  The insertion/implantation of the device was fine… a minor discomfort.  Having no periods was AWESOME! And no pregnancy… yay!

Fast forward to 2 years later… something is up…. something is “not right”.

Sporadically I might feel some tenderness and bloating, but for the past three months now I have pregnant boobs!  Full on swollen, sore and huge areolas. WTF?  Really?  When it first started and lasted a few weeks, I took a pregnancy test because I honestly was concerned that I was pregnant.  It was negative of course.

So I’ve decided to have this foreign device and it’s protruding synthetic hormones removed from my body.  I’ve had enough.  I’m truly eager to see what happens.  I am scheduled to have it removed Monday at 10AM.  I will let you know how it goes…

Let me know if you have had any similar experiences.  What do you use for birth control?

 

Be Informed. Be Safe. Be Healthy.

 

Cheers,

Heather