Making your own hummus is quite easy and you can use so many different variations.

I started by pulling info from this Shape Magazine article.

I decided to start with the Guaca- Hummus since deep down Guacamole is really my favorite.

Here’s What you need:

What You'll Need

1 Can of Chick Peas (Drained)

1/3 C Cilantro (Chopped)

1 Jalapeno Pepper (Deseeded and Chopped)

1 Ripe Avacado

1 Lime

Salt and Garlic to Taste

Put drained chick peas, chopped cilantro, chopped pepper and avacado in the chopper/food processor.

Drain those Chick Peas!

Drain those Chick Peas!

Ready to Blenc!

Ready to Blenc!

Above you can see me using one of my favorite kitchen tools.  If you don’t have one, go buy one!  A lime squeezer.  I have a lemon squeezer too.  Love them both!

You put the lime in cut side down and then squeeze.  You get all the juices and no seeds or mess.

Must Have Tool!

Must Have Tool!

Then you blend.  Then add salt and garlic to taste.  The recipe from Shape did not call for garlic but trust me.  It needs garlic and I think I might even add some fresh next time.

All Mushed Up!

All Mushed Up!

The consistency can be however you like.  If you want it thinner just keep adding a tablespoon of water until you get it where you want it.

Finished Product!

Finished Product!

Yum!  Next I want to try the traditional with lots of garlic and I might add some olives too!

What would you put in your?

 

Be Informed. Be Safe. Be Healthy.

 

Cheers,

Heather